Battle Royale for last seat in Clare – suggests 50 per cent tally

With more than half of the boxes open in Clare – the tallies strongly indicate that Timmy Dooley (FF), Michael Harty (IND) and Pat Breen (FG), will all be elected to Dail Eireann later today. The fourth and final seat looks set to be a messy affair – with Joe Carey (FG) and Michael ‘Malty’ McDonagh (FF) set to go head to head – with Michael McNamara (Labour) and Noeleen Moran (SF) also in the hunt.  The boxes open have come from every part of the county – with the lowest proportion so far opened in Shannon, which could yield extra votes to Joe Carey (FG) and Noeleen Moran  (SF).


Tally After 79 of 153 boxes


Timmy Dooley (Fianna Fail) – 4975

Michael Harty (Ind) – 4287

Pat Breen (Fine Gael) – 3547

Joe Carey (Fine Gael) – 2959

Michael McDonagh (Fianna Fail) – 2874

Michael McNamara (Labour) – 2054

Noeleen Moran (Sinn Fein) – 1926

Clare Colleran Molloy (Fianna Fail) – 1568

Ann Norton  (Ind)   – 1056

Mary Howard (Fine Gael) – 984

Fergal Smith (Green Party) – 857

Niamh O’Brien (Fis Nua) – 570

Ian Lynch (Ind) – 464

Richard Cahill (Ind) – 426

Andre Hakizimana (Ind) – 37

Dermot Mulqueen (IND) – 28


Boxes Open:

Ennis: 19 of 36

Shannon: 11 of 30

Killaloe: 16 of 32

West Clare: 32 of 54


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.