Podge Collins returns to Clare football side and leads attack against Kerry

THE Clare side for Sunday’s Munster semi-final showdown against Kerry in Cusack Park shows one change from the side that started last Saturday’s replay win over Waterford.
Cratloe’s Padraic Collins, who was unavailable for that game because of his hurling commitments the following day, has been drafted straight back into the side to lead the attack at centre-forward.
The player to lose out is Barry Harnett of Meelick.
Collins’ introduction brings about a number of positional changes, with Shane Brennan moving to midfield to partner his older brother and captain Gary Brennan, having played full-forward the last day.
Meanwhile, Enda Coughlan goes into left-full-forward, with David Tubridy moving to the full-forward position. Coughlan started the Waterford game at centre-forward, but it’s widely expected that he won’t play as a conventional corner-forward and will instead drop back to buttress the defence in a sweeper’s role.
Clare’s hopes of a first Munster championship win over Kerry in Cusack Park in 65 years – when they were captained by a Kerryman Murt O’Shea, who played for Ennis Faughs – has received a further boost with the news that Coolmeen’s Cathal O’Connor has finally recovered from injury to take his place in the match-day 26.
The Clare side was named on Friday night after training, while Kerry’s starting 15 was selected by manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice on Tuesday night last. The Kerry side will be minus some star names that lined out last year due to retirements and injury, but still they side named includes six All-Ireland winners in Marc Ó Sé, Killian Young, David Moran, Darren O’Sullivan, Declan O’Sullivan and Bryan Sheehan.

Joe Hayes (Lissycasey), Dean Ryan (Éire Óg), Kevin Harnett (Meelick), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s Miltown), Ciaran Russell (Éire Óg), Gary Brennan (Clondegad) Capt., Shane Brennan (Clondegad), Sean Collins (Cratloe) Padraic Collins (Cratloe), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis), Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), David Tubridy (Doonbeg), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane).

Brian Kelly, Paul Murphy, Marc Ó Sé, Shane Enright, Peter Crowley, Killian Young, Fionn Fitzgerald, Anthony Maher, David Moran Darran O’Sullivan, Bryan Sheehan, Michael Geaney, Stephen O’Brien, Declan O’Sullivan, Paul Geaney.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.