Five debutants on Clare senior football team

THERE are five debutants on the Clare side to take on Waterford in Saturday’s Munster senior football quarter-final in Cusack Park.
All-Ireland senior hurling medal winner and All Star, Padraic Collins (Cratloe) has been named in the starting 15 along with Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Ciaran Russell (Éire Óg), Jamie Malone (Corofin) and Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil).
The side was named after training on Thursday night, with the selection seeing long-serving Joe Hayes come back into the side after missing nearly all of the National League campaign.
The Lissycasey clubman was came on as a late sub in the league final defeat to Tipperary in Croke Park, but comes back into the side from the start in this championship opener. This side will be captained by Gary Brennan of Clondegad.

Clare Team
Joe Hayes (Lissycasey), Dean Ryan (Éire Óg), Kevin Harnett (Meelick), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s Miltown), Ciaran Russell (Éire Óg), Gary Brennan (Clondegad), Jamie Malone (Corofin), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Sean Collins (Cratloe), Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), David Tubridy (Doonbeg), Padraic Collins (Cratloe).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.