Three debutants on Clare football side for NFL opener

Clare manager Colm Collins and coach Paudie Kissane

The Clare side selected for Sunday’s National Football League opener against Waterford in Fraher Field in Dungarvan includes three players who will be making their competitive debuts for the county at senior level.
Goalkeeper Pierse Deloughrey (Cratloe) and corner forwards Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil) and Jamie Malone (Corofin) have been named in the starting 15 by manager Colm Collins, while the side also includes six players who weren’t part of the panel in 2013 when Mick O’Dwyer was manager.
These are Dean Ryan (Éire Óg) and Kevin Harnett (Meelick) in the full-back line, wing-backs Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane) and Martin Murphy (Cratloe) as well as wing-forwards Shane Brennan (Clondegad) and Sean Collins (Cratloe).
All-Ireland winning hurler Collins will be making his return to the Clare side for the first time in five years, while his younger brother Padraic Collins, who is an All Star hurler from last season is listing among the subs.
The side only includes five survivors from the last Clare’s lost competitive outing, which was the All-Ireland Qualifier against Laois last July. They are Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen), Gary Brennan (Clondegad), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis) and David Tubridy (Doonbeg).

The side reads as follows:

Pierse Deloughrey (Cratloe), Dean Ryan (Éire Óg), Kevin Harnett (Meelick), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Martin Murphy (Cratloe), Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen), Gary Brennan (Clondegad), Shane Brennan (Clondegad), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis), Sean Collins (Cratloe), Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), David Tubridy (Doonbeg), Jamie Malone (Corofin). Subs Jamie Joyce (Cratloe), Padhraic Collins (Cratloe), Michael O’Shea (St Senan’s Kilkee), Paudge McMahon (Clondegad), Stephen Collins (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield), Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s Miltown), Laurence Healy (Ennistymon), Ciaran Russell (Éire Óg), John Keane (Corofin), David Ryan (Kilmihil), Francis Hayes (Lissycasey).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.