Fianna Fáil County Councillors returned to contest Clare County Council election in 2014

Five sitting county councillors were returned to contest the Clare County Council election in the west for Fianna Fáil last night (Monday).
Cllr Bill Chambers, Cllr Michael Hillery, Cllr Pat Keane, Cllr PJ Kelly and Cllr Richard Nagle will all be on the ticket come next summer following the party’s convention in the Armada Hotel in Spanish Point.
Councillors Nagle and Hillery were selected automatically following a directive from Fianna Fáil’s National Constituency Committee that two candidates were to come from the Ennistymon area.
The remaining six candidates from the Kilrush area, that included three sitting councillors as well as Kilrush Town Councillor Tom Prendeville, Michael O’Neill and Rita McInerney, went before the delegates for selection.
A decisive vote saw Cllr Kelly and Cllr Keane pass the quota in the first vote and their surplus brought fellow councillor Bill Chambers safely over the mark.
The five candidates will now go forward and represent the party in the eight seat West Clare Municipal Area elections.
For more see The Clare People newspaper of visit our Digital Edition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.