Clare footballers storm to victory

Cathal O'Connor goes high in the National Football League tie against Leitrim in Carrick-on-Shannon.

National Football League – Division 4

Clare 1-14 Leitrim 2-8
at Páirc Mac Diarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon

CLARE produced a storming display to claim their first victory in this year’s National Footall League, when turning a seven-point first half deficit into a very comfortable three-point win over a shell-shocked Leitrim side on Sunday afternoon.
Leitrim were cruising in the first half as they led by 1-5 to 0-1 after 23 minutes, but after a protracted delay before the break that saw an eight-minute stoppage Clare suddenly came alive and a 1-3 burst ensured that they were only 1-5 to 1-4 adrift at the interval.
The all-important goal was bagged by David Tubridy, a strike that was a forerunner to a dominant second half display that saw them outscore Leitrim by 0-10 to 1-3. With captain Gary Brennan and forwards Mark McCarthy and Rory Donnelly starring, Clare sealed two precious points with a peerless second 35-minute display, building up a 1-14 to 1-7 lead after 68 minutes.
They did lose Martin McMahon to a second yellow just before the end, while Leitrim bagged 1-1 in the closing minutes but it was still a comprehensive triumph for Mick O’Dwyer’s charges after their disappointing loss to Waterford the previous weekend.

Clare Scorers:
David Tubridy (1-5, 4f), Gary Brennan (0-2), Shane McGrath (0-2), Mark McCarthy (0-1), Cathal O’Connor (0-1), Gordon Kelly (0-1), Rory Donnelly (0-1),Paudge McMahon (0-1).

Joe Hayes (Lissycasey), Laurence Healy (Ennistymon), Shane McNelis (Kildysart), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s Miltown), Declan Callinan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Gary Brennan (Clondegad) Capt, Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis), Alan Clohessy (Liscannor), Chris Dunning (Wolfe Tones), Paudge McMahon (Clondegad), David Tubridy (Doonbeg), Mark McCarthy (Kilmurry Ibrickane). Subs Rory Donnelly (Cooraclare) for Dunning (23 Mins), Niall Kelly (Lissycasey) for Paudge McMahon (51 Mins), Cathal Duggan (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield) for McCarthy (71 Mins)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.