Banner lowered by Deise

Clare manager Mick O'Dwyer with fitness coach Michéal Cahill at Sunday's National League game against Waterford in Miltown.

National Football League – Division 4, Round 1

Waterford 1-9 Clare 0-11
At Hennessy Memorial Park, Miltown Malbay

THE Mick O’Dwyer era in Clare started on a hugely disappointing note in Miltown Malbay on Sunday as they were edged out by Waterford in the opening round of the National League.

Clare looked to have laid the foundations for victory in the opening half as they built up a 0-7 to 0-5 interval lead, having played against the breeze, but they were out-played in the second half by a rejuvenated Deise side that deserved the precious two league points.

Midfield dominance was the key for Waterford, while a Damien Guiry goal 13 minutes into the second half that helped them into a 1-8 to 0-8 lead was the decisive strike of the day.

Clare had their chances to get something from the game in the closing stages, but a series of poor wides from distance ensured the worst possible start to the league campaign as they now head to Carrick-on-Shannon next Sunday to take on Leitrim, knowing that victory is now a must, or else their promotion hopes will be all but over only two games into the seven-match campaign.

Joe Hayes (Lissycasey), Laurence Healy (Ennistymon), Shane McNelis (Kildysart), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Declan Callinan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s Miltown), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane) (0-1), Gary Brennan (Clondegad), Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen) (0-1), Alan Clohessy (Liscannor) (0-1), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis) (0-2), Chris Dunning (Wolfe Tones) (0-1), Mark McCarthy (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Niall Kelly (Lissycasey) David Tubridy (Doonbeg) (0-5, 3f). Subs Ger Quinlan (O’Curry’s) for Kelly [45 Mins], John Keane (Corofin) for McGrath [64 Mins], Cathal Duggan (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield) for McCarthy [70 Mins].

Stephen Enright (Ballinacourty), Conor Phelan (Brickey Rangers), Stephen Prendergast (Kilcrossanty), John Hurney (Ballinacourty), Paul Whyte (Kilcrossanty) (0-3, 1f), Shane Briggs (Ballinacourty), Tony Grey (Stradbally), Shane Aherne (Stradbally) (0-1), Tommy Prendergast (Kilcrossanty), Conor McGrath (Brickey Rangers) (0-1), Patrick Hurney (Ballinacourty) (0-1), Maurice O’Gorman (The Nire), Darren Guiry (The Nire) (1-1), Robert Aherne (Stradbally) (0-2f), Liam Ó Lionáin (An Rinn). Subs Gavin Nugent for McGrath [54 Mins], Ronan Cahill for Prendergast [64 Mins], David Hallahan for Guiry [68 Mins].

Referee Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.