Changing of the guard

THERE could be up to eight new senior football management teams in place for the 2013 club season that is expected to get underway in March with the beginning of the county leagues.

A breakdown of the management teams that are in place has been collated by Clare People Sport ahead of the Special Convention of the Clare County Board that takes place in the West County Hotel on Thursday.

Five of the 16 teams that will be in the draw for the senior championship have opted for a change of manager; eight have the same managers in place with either no change or miminal changes to the backroom teams, while three teams have yet to select any managers of selectors.

And of the managements that have been put in place, to date there are only five outside managers in place as the recent trend of making appointments from within the clubs has increased.

The changes in management personnel that have been confirmed so far are: 2010 champions Doonbeg, Lissycasey who reached the mountaintop for the only time in 2007, a Cooraclare side bidding to bridge a 16-year gap to their last championship success, St Senan’s Kilkee who last won a title in 2005 and Clondegad in only their second season back up in the senior ranks after 40 years.

Of those five new management teams, two are outside appointments in the persons of Kieran O’Neill (Doonbeg) and Barry Donnelly (Doonbeg) in what will be their first forays into senior club football management.

O’Neill, a Munster Championship winner with Clare in 1992 managed the St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield hurlers last season having previously coached the Kilmaley hurlers to championship success in 2004 and then coached Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Tyrone-born Donnelly was a selector on the Éire Óg championship winning team of 2006, while he also served as a trainer/coach to Ballyvaughan. The other new managers confirmed for 2013 are Michael Garry (Cooraclare), Michael Hehir (Clondegad) and John Normoyle (St Senan’s Kilkee).

Apart from the aforementioned Kieran O’Neill and Barry Donnelly, the other outside managers are James Hanrahan (Éire Óg) and Aidan Moloney (Kilrush Shamrocks), which means that three members of Clare’s 1992 Munster Final winning side will have charge of team affairs in 2013, and John Kennedy (Kilmurry Ibrickane) who was automatically returned for a third year at the helm after securing back-to-back domestic trebles.

Eight of the team managers are from within their respective clubs. They are: Dinny McMahon (O’Curry’s),  Mark Rafferty (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield), Mike Riordan (Wolfe Tones), Michael Garry (Cooraclare), Martin Guerin (Liscannor), Mark Shanahan (Ennistymon), Michael Hehir (Clondegad) and John Normoyle (St Senan’s Kilkee).

The three clubs yet to select managers are Cratloe, Shannon Gaels and St Breckan’s, but the expectation is that Colm Collins (Cratloe), Peter O’Connell (Shannon Gaels) and Francie Hawes and Neil Hawes (St Breckan’s) who were all part of the outgoing managements will be involved when the respective backroom teams are put together.


Kilmurry Ibrickane

Manager: John Kennedy

Selectors: Patrick Murrihy, Michael Garvey, Dermot Coughlan



Manager: Dinny McMahon

Selectors: Flan Haugh, Michael Liddane (trainer)


Éire Óg

Manager: James Hanrahan

Selectors: Cathal Shannon, Alan Malone


Kilrush Shamrocks

Manager: Aidan Moloney

Selectors: Daniel Ryan, Joey Meaney, Fergal Maguire



Manager: Mark Shannon

Selectors: Cathal Crowe, Michael O’Looney, Colin Lynch


Wolfe Tones

Manager: Mike Riordan

Selectors: Eugene Brennan, Tom Brennan, Brian Fitzgerald, Pat Murphy, John McCarthy


St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield

Manager: Mark Rafferty

Selectors: Kieran Kelleher, Eugene Moynihan



Manager: Martin Guerin

Selectors: Martin Clohessy (others not selected)



Manager: Kieran O’Neill

Selectors: Eddie Killeen, Gerry McInerney, David Downes



Manager: Michael Garry

Selectors: Michael Quealy, Aidan Donnelly, Michael Healy, Gay Looney



Manager: Barry Donnelly

Selectors: Patrick Griffin


St Senan’s Kilkee

Manager: John Normoyle

Selectors: Ger Crotty, Kevin Shalloo (trainer)



Manager: Michael Hehir

Selectors: Michael Coffey, Declan Power


Shannon Gaels

Management: Not selected

Outoing Managers: Peter O’Connell & Gerry Killeen

Selectors: Miko Moloney



Management: Not selected

Outoing Manager: Colm Collins

Selectors: Sean O’Dea, Martin Murphy, Brian O’Connell, Brian McMahon


St Breckan’s

Management: Not selected

Outoing Manager: Francie Hawes

Selectors: Sean Healy, John O’Neill, Niall Hawes (trainer)

For news on the hurling management teams for the 2013 season see The Clare People or visit our Digital Edition.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.