Fianna Fáil County Councillors returned to contest Clare County Council election in 2014

Five sitting county councillors were returned to contest the Clare County Council election in the west for Fianna Fáil last night (Monday).
Cllr Bill Chambers, Cllr Michael Hillery, Cllr Pat Keane, Cllr PJ Kelly and Cllr Richard Nagle will all be on the ticket come next summer following the party’s convention in the Armada Hotel in Spanish Point.
Councillors Nagle and Hillery were selected automatically following a directive from Fianna Fáil’s National Constituency Committee that two candidates were to come from the Ennistymon area.
The remaining six candidates from the Kilrush area, that included three sitting councillors as well as Kilrush Town Councillor Tom Prendeville, Michael O’Neill and Rita McInerney, went before the delegates for selection.
A decisive vote saw Cllr Kelly and Cllr Keane pass the quota in the first vote and their surplus brought fellow councillor Bill Chambers safely over the mark.
The five candidates will now go forward and represent the party in the eight seat West Clare Municipal Area elections.
For more see The Clare People newspaper of visit our Digital Edition.

About the author

Claire Gallagher

Claire Gallagher is a multi-award winning journalist with more than 15 years experience in media.
The Galwegan began her career in radio working in news and current affairs. Having spent a year on the dark side – political PR and Spin – she returned to journalism and has since then worked mainly in print – regional and national – while continuing to work with the broadcast media.
She has been with the Clare People since its foundation in 2005. She was awarded “Young Irish Medical Journalist of the Year” in June 2008 while working with the paper.
Twitter @galocon Facebook ClaireGallagherClarePeople

Leave a Reply